Categories
Project 366

Project 366 2020 – WEEK 10

Bismillah Hir Rahman Ir Raheem

Peace and blessings be upon you all

Sunday, 1st March

On the second day of SIST, I didn’t have any work to do so I came to attend the talks, help out a friend who was organising Bilingual Interscholastic Declamations Contest, and walked around and prayed in Faisal Masjid which is right above the auditorium where SIST was taking place.

The talks were really good. The speakers today were Salman Asif Siddiqui, Mufti Adnan Kakakhail, Humaira Masihuddin and Sabboor Ahmed. I especially liked Humaira’s talk about Multiculturalism and Pluralism where she reminded us that while Muslims are being killed and tortured in Syria, Burma, China and Kashmir, in Pakistan people were doing the same to people of other faiths. She also said that minority isn’t how less the number of people are of a certain group but it’s basically the group that is singled out and marginalised from the general public. Mufti Adnan gave a very good insight into Islamic history and Salman Asif gave a very good insight as to focus on what’s important which is to revive our faith. Sabboor Ahmed gave a very fun yet thought-provoking talk about social media influences, that it can be used for good or bad but in any case it encourages materialism and jealousy which impairs one’s spirituality.

Also, I prayed Asr Numaaz in Faisal Masjid and roamed around in it which was fun.

Monday, 2nd March

On the way home from college, we stopped by at I-8 Markaz which is located close to my college. I really like the architecture of the building shown above.

Tuesday, 3rd March

My reading list has been updated when I came across The Odd Muslimah’s story. I read The Sealed Nectar a while ago when I downloaded it on pdf file, but reading it from a hard book is much more special.

Wednesday, 4th March

When Mama accidentally steals a Chaaye Khana menu when she went there recently. She’s so adorable MashAllah.

Thursday, 5th March

My regular breakfast was replaced by Mama’s special treat of a club sandwich, french fries and fish crackers. Mmmmmm……

Friday, 6th March

While I was at SIST, I came across this stall of Doodle Stories which was selling framed quotes written in artistic designs. There were many quotes and ayats to choose from but when this one caught my eye, my mind has automatically decided to get it. Hence, I bought it to hang in my room and look at everyday for comfort.

Saturday, 7th March

Along with the frame, I bought this book as well because, as you know, I love books and will keep on buying them. The author himself was selling the book who was very kind to talk to. I hope both his and Doodle Stories’ businesses are successful because working in the arts and literature industry is not easy

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c8cd94ed6d171cb9d89d

By Andale Seaworne

24. Pakistani. Muslim. People call me tubelight. Life is a roller coaster life but if you focus on the ups in life and have faith, life will be beautiful
Thoughts about things happening in everyday life stored in bubbles, waiting for the right time to burst out 😊
Loves McFlurry, Cheese and every food except green chilli, yoghurt, wasabi and humus 😎
Loves books and learning new things
Basketball girl 🏀
Helping out those in need
Holding no expectations, making no comparisons. We are all people of many colours. Accept us for who we are without labels

13 replies on “Project 366 2020 – WEEK 10”

It sounds like SIST went really well and the talks sound very interesting.
A club sandwich and fries is a very unusual breakfast! I buy a lot of books too. I like to have about four waiting to be read – if it gets down to one or two I start to get anxious, but if I have seven or eight waiting to be read, some of them will wait for a year, as I will keep reading a couple, then buying more!

Like

Never thought to have a sandwich and fries together! Might have to give it a go.

Love the Sealed Nectar. Have a copy of that.

We went to see Faisal Masjid last time we came Pakistan..it is stunning.

Liked by 1 person

SIST sounds like it was really interesting. Good luck with your resolution not to buy any more books until you’ve finished reading the ones you have. Love that quote – what a good one to be reminded of. #project366

Liked by 1 person

Don’t know why I get a message that my comment cannot be posted. I just wanted to say that it sounds that SIST was an inspiring event for you. I don’t think I ever had fries for breakfast, but imagine my sons would be very happy with such breakfast. An inspirational quote in a frame could apply to many faiths.

Liked by 1 person

It sounds like SIST was very interesting and inspiring. I enjoyed seeing your book shelf – I always like to have some books in ready to read.

Liked by 1 person

I have soooo many books that I haven’t read! Probably 50-70 at my parents’ house that I haven’t brought back! I enjoy reading my favourites again and again though! #project366

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment